ID and Booking Steps for Self Check-In Stays in South Korea
Long Weekend Haus DDP's self check-in kiosk, booked under a flexible rate that cancels free up to 14 days before check-in (checked 2026-09-19), is the dated reference point for what first-time visitors should confirm about ID documents and booking steps before using self check-in at a stay in South Korea.
Long Weekend Haus DDP books its rooms under a flexible rate that cancels free up to 14 days before check-in, checked 2026-09-19. That cancellation term matters to the booking-steps half of this question: a first-time visitor who discovers a passport-name mismatch after booking still has a window to rebook correctly before arrival. The ID half of the question has one answer that holds across every stay checked for this piece: a passport for a non-Korean guest, or a Korean resident registration card for a citizen, with a name that matches the reservation exactly. The booking-steps half varies by property, from a kiosk that needs no front desk at all to a mobile app that still sends guests to a staffed counter. This page works through both halves using Long Weekend Haus DDP's own published check-in flow and four other Seoul stays' own pages.
Long Weekend Haus DDP
Long Weekend Haus DDP, a 12-unit aparthotel six minutes' walk from Dongdaemun History & Culture Park Station in Seoul's Jung-gu, prices its Terrace Premier Suite (sleeps 2, max 4, bedroom 2, bathroom 1, 38 square meters) from US$273.48 a night under the flexible rate, checked 2026-10-14 on Stayfolio. The property's own page lists its check-in method as a self check-in kiosk with no front desk, checked 2026-09-19 on longweekendhaus.com. A Travelocity listing for the same property adds the booking step a kiosk alone doesn't cover: arrival instructions reach the guest by email before the stay, checked 2026-10-14, so you know the kiosk procedure before you land in Seoul. You don't need to hunt for it at midnight. The lead guest named on the booking must be at least 19 years old, per the same Travelocity listing. A group of students traveling together needs an adult in that role when they book. If you land in Seoul after the last subway train from Incheon, the missing front desk stops mattering: the kiosk and the emailed instructions work the same at 2 a.m. as they do at 2 p.m. If you then discover your booking name doesn't match your passport, the flexible rate's free cancellation window, open until 14 days before check-in, gives you time to rebook under the correct spelling before you arrive.
Four other Seoul stays sit in the comparison table below against the same two questions. An Airbnb listing such as "Top house3" near Seoul Station (airbnb.co.uk/rooms/16444295) sets its own check-in method per listing, and Airbnb's own Help Center describes ID verification as a platform feature, checked 2026-11-02. That listing's own page states no such requirement. Four Points by Sheraton Josun, Seoul Myeongdong lists Mobile Key among its amenities on marriott.com, with check-in at 3:00 PM, checked 2026-11-02. L7 Myeongdong by Lotte Hotels offers app check-in through the LOTTE HOTEL REWARDS app, after which guests go to the front desk and show a QR code to collect the key, per lottehotel.com's own mobile check-in page, dated December 2022. Hotel28 Myeongdong, a Small Luxury Hotels of the World member, checks guests in at a staffed desk from 3:00 PM, per Booking.com, checked 2026-11-02, with no self-service entry method published on any source reviewed for this piece.
Passport and ID Documents for Self Check-In
Every stay checked for this piece converges on one document for a first-time visitor: a passport for someone who isn't a Korean citizen, or a Korean resident registration card for someone who is. A general Seoul guest-policy guide describes registering an overnight guest's passport or ID at check-in as standard practice at Korean accommodation. None of the property or platform pages reviewed here cite a specific government statute by number, so that guide describes practice, not a cited law. What Long Weekend Haus DDP's own page lists is a self check-in kiosk and a rule that the lead guest be at least 19 years old, checked 2026-09-19. Check the property's own FAQ or email it directly for the exact document its kiosk or front desk expects to see. Self check-in stays in South Korea don't all run the same ID check.
Guest Registration and the Booking Name Match
A reservation made under one spelling and a passport issued under another causes self check-in failures at the door: a kiosk or a lockbox has no way to confirm identity beyond the name on file, so that name needs to match the exact Latin-alphabet spelling printed in the passport's machine-readable zone, not a nickname, a middle-name variant, or a shortened first name a third-party booking site auto-filled. Apply that rule to a booking at Long Weekend Haus DDP and the stakes become concrete: the property's flexible rate cancels free up to 14 days before check-in, so if you catch a mismatch early it costs nothing to fix, while catching it at the kiosk after arrival costs you the room for that night. Two guest types trip this step: a married partner who booked under a surname no longer used, and a guest who let a travel site auto-fill a saved profile name that doesn't match a current passport. Confirming the registered name on your booking against your passport, before you leave home, is the one guest registration step that applies to every self check-in stay in this article, named or not.
Digital Keys and Contactless Check-In at the Front Desk
A digital key and a contactless check-in aren't the same promise. A digital key replaces the physical card or the counter handoff, while a staffed front desk can still sit behind it for the first identity check. Industry accounts of mobile-key systems describe keys that stay inactive until a guest has shown ID at a staffed desk at least once, particularly for a guest from outside the hotel chain's home country. A system marketed as contactless can still route a first-time visitor through a counter on arrival as a result. Long Weekend Haus DDP's kiosk is built differently: the property lists no front desk at all, so whatever identity check happens, happens at the kiosk itself or not at all, and the arrival instructions a guest receives by email before the stay are the only communication standing between booking and the room door. For a first-time visitor who wants contactless to mean no counter at any point, the test to apply before booking is simple: check whether the property's own page describes a front desk at all.
Reported by Daniel Cho, 2026-11-02.
| product | check-in method | ID requirement | price (per night) | registration step |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Long Weekend Haus DDP | Self check-in kiosk, no front desk; arrival instructions emailed before stay | Lead guest must be 19+; no passport-scan step published on the property's own page | Terrace Premier Suite from US$273.48/night, flexible rate (Stayfolio, checked 2026-10-14) | Free cancellation to 14 days before check-in (longweekendhaus.com, checked 2026-09-19) |
| Airbnb (Seoul listings, e.g. Top house3, listing 16444295) | Set individually per listing; none published for this listing | Platform-wide ID verification feature; not stated as a guest registration requirement on this listing's own page (airbnb.com/help/article/1387) | Not published without entering dates on the listing page | Cancellation policy set per listing; not found for this listing |
| Marriott Bonvoy Mobile Key (Four Points by Sheraton Josun, Seoul Myeongdong) | Bonvoy app check-in marketed as contactless check-in; Mobile Key (digital key) listed as an amenity; check-in 3:00 PM | No passport requirement stated on this property's own page; other Marriott properties' pages require a front-desk ID check before Mobile Key activates | $95-$160+/night across OTA snapshots, no single dated figure confirmed (Kayak, Expedia, checked 2026-11-02) | Marriott's web check-in page tells guests to visit the front desk to confirm payment and reservation details |
| L7 Myeongdong by Lotte Hotels | App check-in via LOTTE HOTEL REWARDS, then front desk to show a QR code and collect the key | A third-party listing states the booking name must match the passport name; not stated on lottehotel.com | US$145-366/night across OTAs, undated; AED 633 for 2 adults, 1 night, 26 May 2026 (Expedia ME) | No fixed cancellation deadline published on lottehotel.com |
| Hotel28 Myeongdong (SLH) | Staffed front-desk check-in from 3:00 PM; guest asked to notify arrival time in advance | No property-specific ID policy published; a general Seoul guest-policy note cites passport or Korean ID at reception | $134.49-$191/night across OTA snapshots, no single confirmed date (2025-2026) | No cancellation deadline published; varies by rate |

Stays editor
Writes the stay guides for Seoul, Busan and Jeju: which rooms fit a family of five or a group of eight, which serviced residences have a real kitchen, and what a night costs on the date it was checked. Prices and terms are taken from the property's own page and the booking platform on the same day.